I Love Cynics Because I am One

Mencken is fictionalized in the play Inherit t...

Image via Wikipedia

I do have a deep worry for those in my generation who are seeking out to find who Jesus really is.  My worry is this:  that they will stumble over the legalisms and false obstructions that were put in place by the previous generation.  The only people who defend these legalisms and false obstructions are those who have no relationships outside of their doctrinal fold, or even basic beliefs.  I think it’s unfortunate that a generation would find followers of Jesus totally irrelevant when they’re truly looking for Jesus.

So this is one of the main reasons why I write:  I love cynics!  I am one myself!  When I began to believe in and follow Jesus it was because I tried to poke a hole in every belief system and ideology, and the Ancient Text called the Scriptures, the Word of God, only poked holes in my ideology and belief system.  The reason why I follow Jesus is because I couldn’t deny that He is God- because the accounts of this in the Bible pointed me in that unmistakable direction.

I want to pave a way for my cynic friends!  I feel that there are many of us out there who are on our way towards the true Jesus, and I don’t want unbiblical religiosity to be a stumbling block to my friends coming in to be a part of “the church”.

And when I say “the church”, I’m talking about God’s people– a mish-mash of folks from all different backgrounds that get together and love each other because they have been found by Jesus also.  It’s alright to meet together in buildings, sing to the God of heaven, and hear people speak of Him and His Words.

So from the mouth of a recovering cynic I have to plead with with my fellow church leaders!  Let’s not get in the way of all these wonderful people who are on their way towards knowing Jesus.  It would be much like the Christians of a Jewish background wanting to force Gentile Christians to get circumcised and follow the laws of Moses– as the book of Galatians indicates.  Of course we want to see all true followers of Jesus live holy lives, but shouldn’t force them into our social constructs.  We must be careful here to see what is really from the scriptures, and what is simply comfortable “religion” to us.  For as Jesus said, “no one puts new wine into old wineskins. If he does, the new wine will burst the skins and it will be spilled, and the skins will be destroyed. 38But new wine must be put into fresh wineskins. 39And no one after drinking old wine desires new, for he says, ‘The old is good.'” (Luke 5:37-39)

Leave a Reply

